Page 1 of 1

Treading Water

Posted: Tue Feb 26, 2019 6:00 pm
by dafelsheim
So, I've read and reread the rules in Lords of the Ash for aquatic combat. My players are giving some fairly sound cinematic and realistic reasoning as to why a Dweller shouldn't have to spend a Rune during Upkeep to tread in deep water if they actually perform a Move Action during their turn. How do other people handle this?

Re: Treading Water

Posted: Fri Mar 01, 2019 11:03 am
by andrew
If your players have sound reasons as to why the situation doesn't warrant spending a rune, then go with it! Remember that the rules cannot cover every scenario that crops up in any given adventure. Quickly negotiate the situation vis-a-vis the rules and keep playing. Don't let the rules as written bog down gameplay. The rules are there as a framework and springboard to give you and your players a starting point on how to adjudicate the scene.

Re: Treading Water

Posted: Fri Mar 01, 2019 1:40 pm
by dafelsheim
Thanks, Andrew!