Possessed passive power

Discussions about the 20th Anniversary Edition
Forum rules
No cyber-bullying, no racism, no spam! Keep discussions civil and respectful or you will be banned!
Post Reply
Weaselboy
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Dec 16, 2020 10:15 pm

Possessed passive power

Post by Weaselboy »

This seems to be the only way for a Seithkona to voluntary become possessed. Is this the case? I fail to see any other method.
User avatar
andrew
Posts: 1249
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2013 10:39 am
Contact:

Re: Possessed passive power

Post by andrew »

Weaselboy wrote:This seems to be the only way for a Seithkona to voluntary become possessed. Is this the case? I fail to see any other method.
Page 230 of the Core Rulebook at the start of the powers listings reminds the reader that all powers are by default targeting self or adjacent combatant. That means any possession power can be self-targeted. This includes both actives and passives.
Weaselboy
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Dec 16, 2020 10:15 pm

Re: Possessed passive power

Post by Weaselboy »

Page 230 of the Core Rulebook at the start of the powers listings reminds the reader that all powers are by default targeting self or adjacent combatant. That means any possession power can be self-targeted. This includes both actives and passives.
No, it states that if the effect doesn't state a recipient then the default is Allies. Either self or Allies in range.

After going through the active powers it seems the only ones that a Seithkona can use to self inflict possession are 'the nightman cometh' or 'soul abortion'. They seem to have no access to the latter though (at least at low levels).
User avatar
andrew
Posts: 1249
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2013 10:39 am
Contact:

Re: Possessed passive power

Post by andrew »

Quote:
Some effects do not state the intended recipient (such as "Heal +1"): by default, the effect applies to allies (one target, either on one self, or any allies within range).
Weaselboy
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Dec 16, 2020 10:15 pm

Re: Possessed passive power

Post by Weaselboy »

Even though I didn't include the heal +1 that is exactly what I was quoting so I don't think it needed to be repeated! My points were

1/ that you were in error stating that it defaulted to combatants. Combatants includes enemies and as written in the rules defaulting DOESN'T include enemies.

2/ the possession powers I didn't mention have a recipient and therefore CAN'T be used on yourself according to the rules.
Post Reply