Page 1 of 1

Possessed passive power

Posted: Mon Feb 01, 2021 1:35 am
by Weaselboy
This seems to be the only way for a Seithkona to voluntary become possessed. Is this the case? I fail to see any other method.

Re: Possessed passive power

Posted: Sun Feb 07, 2021 10:57 am
by andrew
Weaselboy wrote:This seems to be the only way for a Seithkona to voluntary become possessed. Is this the case? I fail to see any other method.
Page 230 of the Core Rulebook at the start of the powers listings reminds the reader that all powers are by default targeting self or adjacent combatant. That means any possession power can be self-targeted. This includes both actives and passives.

Re: Possessed passive power

Posted: Sun Feb 07, 2021 6:03 pm
by Weaselboy
Page 230 of the Core Rulebook at the start of the powers listings reminds the reader that all powers are by default targeting self or adjacent combatant. That means any possession power can be self-targeted. This includes both actives and passives.
No, it states that if the effect doesn't state a recipient then the default is Allies. Either self or Allies in range.

After going through the active powers it seems the only ones that a Seithkona can use to self inflict possession are 'the nightman cometh' or 'soul abortion'. They seem to have no access to the latter though (at least at low levels).

Re: Possessed passive power

Posted: Sun Feb 07, 2021 9:18 pm
by andrew
Quote:
Some effects do not state the intended recipient (such as "Heal +1"): by default, the effect applies to allies (one target, either on one self, or any allies within range).

Re: Possessed passive power

Posted: Thu Feb 11, 2021 3:31 am
by Weaselboy
Even though I didn't include the heal +1 that is exactly what I was quoting so I don't think it needed to be repeated! My points were

1/ that you were in error stating that it defaulted to combatants. Combatants includes enemies and as written in the rules defaulting DOESN'T include enemies.

2/ the possession powers I didn't mention have a recipient and therefore CAN'T be used on yourself according to the rules.