Fate of the Norns

The Complete Viking Experience!
It is currently Sun Oct 24, 2021 10:35 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Forum rules


No cyber-bullying, no racism, no spam! Keep discussions civil and respectful or you will be banned!



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Possessed passive power
PostPosted: Mon Feb 01, 2021 1:35 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Dec 16, 2020 10:15 pm
Posts: 5
This seems to be the only way for a Seithkona to voluntary become possessed. Is this the case? I fail to see any other method.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Feb 07, 2021 10:57 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2013 10:39 am
Posts: 1244
Weaselboy wrote:
This seems to be the only way for a Seithkona to voluntary become possessed. Is this the case? I fail to see any other method.


Page 230 of the Core Rulebook at the start of the powers listings reminds the reader that all powers are by default targeting self or adjacent combatant. That means any possession power can be self-targeted. This includes both actives and passives.

_________________
Image
https://twitter.com/avalkauskas
https://www.patreon.com/fateofthenorns


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Feb 07, 2021 6:03 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Dec 16, 2020 10:15 pm
Posts: 5
Quote:
Page 230 of the Core Rulebook at the start of the powers listings reminds the reader that all powers are by default targeting self or adjacent combatant. That means any possession power can be self-targeted. This includes both actives and passives.


No, it states that if the effect doesn't state a recipient then the default is Allies. Either self or Allies in range.

After going through the active powers it seems the only ones that a Seithkona can use to self inflict possession are 'the nightman cometh' or 'soul abortion'. They seem to have no access to the latter though (at least at low levels).


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Feb 07, 2021 9:18 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2013 10:39 am
Posts: 1244
Quote:
Some effects do not state the intended recipient (such as "Heal +1"): by default, the effect applies to allies (one target, either on one self, or any allies within range).

_________________
Image
https://twitter.com/avalkauskas
https://www.patreon.com/fateofthenorns


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 11, 2021 3:31 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Dec 16, 2020 10:15 pm
Posts: 5
Even though I didn't include the heal +1 that is exactly what I was quoting so I don't think it needed to be repeated! My points were

1/ that you were in error stating that it defaulted to combatants. Combatants includes enemies and as written in the rules defaulting DOESN'T include enemies.

2/ the possession powers I didn't mention have a recipient and therefore CAN'T be used on yourself according to the rules.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group