Fate of the Norns

The Complete Viking Experience!
It is currently Fri May 24, 2019 2:53 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Forum rules


No cyber-bullying, no racism, no spam! Keep discussions civil and respectful or you will be banned!



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Stitch Kindred
PostPosted: Mon May 23, 2016 9:10 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 20, 2013 11:53 pm
Posts: 967
player questions
1) does Recover count as healing for the purposes of stitch kindred?
2) suppose person A heals, and is in a Stitch Kindred with Person B. Person B has an item of Heal +4. Does Person A now get another 4 because person B augmented his own healing?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Stitch Kindred
PostPosted: Tue May 24, 2016 8:27 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2013 10:39 am
Posts: 1112
1) Nope, Heal and Recover are two different key words. But you can always house rule it.
2) No, only if person B (the one with Heal +4) is the one who does the heal effect, will person B get the bonus. Either way, person B gets the Heal on self bonus (if the power is akin to the Nature's Child passive).

_________________
Image
https://twitter.com/avalkauskas


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Stitch Kindred
PostPosted: Tue May 24, 2016 8:32 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 20, 2013 11:53 pm
Posts: 967
Awesome. that's what we came to as well.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Stitch Kindred
PostPosted: Sat Apr 06, 2019 5:44 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Sep 19, 2017 9:47 pm
Posts: 19
Example: 5 people are in a stitch kindred, and all 5 are in the area of a heal spell, where a target heals +2. How much total healing does each deweller get beyond being in the area of the initial heal?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Stitch Kindred
PostPosted: Mon Apr 08, 2019 12:50 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2018 6:48 pm
Posts: 152
Is the 5 count including or excluding the caster of the spell?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Stitch Kindred
PostPosted: Sat Apr 20, 2019 11:13 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2013 10:39 am
Posts: 1112
Let's assume 5 people are in the SK network.
3 are in the spell area, 2 are not.

So 3 people heal 2 from the spell. Then you apply the SK and everyone in the group heals 2. So 3 people healed for 5, and 2 people healed for 2. So all you needed was 1 person in the group to get the heal, for all members to get the SK heal. You could argue that each of the 3 people trigger SK separately and you stack the SK heal 3 times, but we must remember sources within powers. You resolve a source only once, otherwise you'll have a cyclical effect: once someone in the SK network gets healed by SK, then SK triggers again. You have SK trigger ONCE and everyone gets the benefits from it (which may varry since some members may have Passives powers like Nature's Child.

_________________
Image
https://twitter.com/avalkauskas


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Stitch Kindred
PostPosted: Tue May 07, 2019 5:14 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2018 6:48 pm
Posts: 152
andrew wrote:
Let's assume 5 people are in the SK network.
3 are in the spell area, 2 are not.

So 3 people heal 2 from the spell. Then you apply the SK and everyone in the group heals 2. So 3 people healed for 5, and 2 people healed for 2. So all you needed was 1 person in the group to get the heal, for all members to get the SK heal. You could argue that each of the 3 people trigger SK separately and you stack the SK heal 3 times, but we must remember sources within powers. You resolve a source only once, otherwise you'll have a cyclical effect: once someone in the SK network gets healed by SK, then SK triggers again. You have SK trigger ONCE and everyone gets the benefits from it (which may varry since some members may have Passives powers like Nature's Child.


So, my game last night had the Druid coupling Stitch Kindred with Geyser of Living Water.

He initially placed two Alka tokens on himself and one on another Dweller in the Stitch Kindred group, hoping to share the healing of two Alka Tokens with a third Dweller that was beyond the tokens in a single action. I ruled that individuals in a Stitch Kindred group could only be hit by or benefit from a single "duplication" of a specific Alka Spell via Stitch Kindred per round, using your above logic behind sources as a guideline. Otherwise this would be beyond broken.

I did tell my players that I would run the whole thing by you, however, for your input.

Thoughts?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Stitch Kindred
PostPosted: Wed May 08, 2019 8:55 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2013 10:39 am
Posts: 1112
You played it right, having it trigger once from the initial placement of the heal alka. Now as the combat continues and people run through the alka tokens, each run through on a given players turn would trigger it, but its important to note: if a member of the SK runs through multiple heal alkas, when the move ends, resolve the cumulative heal. Don't resolve each individual token during the movement since (1) slows down the game, and (2) that's not how Alka token resolution was designed.

_________________
Image
https://twitter.com/avalkauskas


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group