Fate of the Norns

The Complete Viking Experience!
It is currently Sun Nov 17, 2019 6:58 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Forum rules


No cyber-bullying, no racism, no spam! Keep discussions civil and respectful or you will be banned!



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 57 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: RGS FAQ
PostPosted: Wed Sep 18, 2013 6:15 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2013 10:39 am
Posts: 1143
Some answers for ya!

The rune Passives cancel the same Passives out.

For the 3 final questions:

1) Nope, not yet. The sheet is pre-prepared for the upcoming Angel of Death archetype. Right now the only way to get someone into the heavens is to ally yourself with either the gods or Jotuns and make that afterlife pull for the Valkyries.

2) Like all powers (Active or Passive) you must resolve it completely before another power can be triggered and resolved. So if a Power says Heal +2 and Recover +4, you choose what order that happens. You must complete the full heal before resolving the recover and visa versa.

3) Should be a free download, if it isn't let us know and we'll add it.

Happy gaming! :)

_________________
Image
https://twitter.com/avalkauskas
https://www.patreon.com/fateofthenorns


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RGS FAQ
PostPosted: Thu Sep 19, 2013 2:32 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jul 25, 2013 10:44 pm
Posts: 34
Found the norn mat in the Fafnir's treasure printed materials; it just doesn't seem to have a direct link like the regular play may.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RGS FAQ
PostPosted: Sat Oct 12, 2013 6:42 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jul 25, 2013 10:44 pm
Posts: 34
Quick question about wyrding in combat. Let's say a player has a destiny of 3, he makes a move action, plays 1 rune and uses the other to make it sustained. his movement rune goes back in the pile at the end of the round. On the next round, does he draw 3 more runes (and thus have 5 runes in play despite his destiny), or just the one rune to replace the one that went back into essence?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RGS FAQ
PostPosted: Sun Oct 13, 2013 7:13 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 02, 2013 1:31 pm
Posts: 133
Fi'Irdray wrote:
Quick question about wyrding in combat. Let's say a player has a destiny of 3, he makes a move action, plays 1 rune and uses the other to make it sustained. his movement rune goes back in the pile at the end of the round. On the next round, does he draw 3 more runes (and thus have 5 runes in play despite his destiny), or just the one rune to replace the one that went back into essence?


Fi'Irdray look on page 96

Anything not maintained or open goes back to Essence

Also I'm not sure if you are implying it, but generic actions cannot be given meta tags

_________________
---------------
Disir = 6


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RGS FAQ
PostPosted: Wed Oct 16, 2013 10:28 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jul 25, 2013 10:44 pm
Posts: 34
I guess I didn't phrase it clearly; my question is: do runes in a maintained/open rune chain count against your destiny for runes in hand/play? eg., Players has destiny of 3, draws his runes, and starts a rune chain with 2 metas attached (one of which is a maintain). The rune chain stays up after upkeep per the maintain meta through the next round. Does the player draw 3 more runes for the next round (and thus potentially have 6 runes in-play despite having a destiny of 3), or does the 3 rune chain apply to his destiny (and he can't draw more until he undoes the chain and returns them to essence)?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RGS FAQ
PostPosted: Thu Oct 17, 2013 4:00 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat May 11, 2013 8:30 am
Posts: 77
Fi'Irdray doesn't matter how many rune chains you have maintained or open, you will draw your full destiny. The only exception is if you have less runes in your essence bag than your destiny. I hope that answers your question.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RGS FAQ
PostPosted: Tue Oct 29, 2013 8:08 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2013 10:39 am
Posts: 1143
We have some new sample videos up:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zrudUmrLXXk

_________________
Image
https://twitter.com/avalkauskas
https://www.patreon.com/fateofthenorns


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RGS FAQ
PostPosted: Wed Oct 30, 2013 2:15 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2013 12:55 pm
Posts: 12
Thanks for sharing, perhaps updating the "Videos"-thread would be great, too?

Also, one question:
In Round 2, upkeep:
1 of the denizens played a rune during upkeep to reduce his degeneration condition by 1 ... why didn't he just take a minor sacrifice to reduce that condition by one ? (and why did neither of the players took that opportunity?)

Right now, I'm totally unsure if that rule (Minor Sacrifice+1 to reduce a Condition by 1 after it affects you during upkepp) might also be some leftover of an old rule that is gone now, but still lingers in the rulebook ??

Could you clarify, please ?



Also, perhaps a good one for a FAQ:
- Can you play a rune during upkeep to reduce a condition by 1 before or after a condition triggers ? I.e. Can you reduce your Degeneration+1 to +0, so you won't take damage during upkeep ?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RGS FAQ
PostPosted: Wed Oct 30, 2013 11:29 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 02, 2013 1:31 pm
Posts: 133
Talaris wrote:
Also, perhaps a good one for a FAQ:
- Can you play a rune during upkeep to reduce a condition by 1 before or after a condition triggers ? I.e. Can you reduce your Degeneration+1 to +0, so you won't take damage during upkeep ?


The first question I will leave for Andrew, but the second one is easy: mentioned in the video and book, the player who is resolving the upkeep chooses the order of effects. So you can easily drop an intensity 1 condition to 0 before you choose to trigger it.

Peace!

_________________
---------------
Disir = 6


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RGS FAQ
PostPosted: Mon Nov 04, 2013 5:23 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2013 10:39 am
Posts: 1143
Talaris, the minor sacrifice rule mentioned on page 123 was actually one of the last additions before going to print. It was in response to high level campaigns, and the need for additional ways to throttle down many conditions. You may play with this rule at all levels, but I personally only kick it into effect after level 30. Look at this rule as you would the wounds track choice. Depending on how lethal you want the game to be, you can choose to use/not-use/use-later.

Thanks for the good question! :)

_________________
Image
https://twitter.com/avalkauskas
https://www.patreon.com/fateofthenorns


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 57 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group