Fate of the Norns

The Complete Viking Experience!
It is currently Fri Nov 15, 2019 7:16 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Forum rules


No cyber-bullying, no racism, no spam! Keep discussions civil and respectful or you will be banned!



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 57 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: RGS FAQ
PostPosted: Thu May 02, 2013 3:20 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 02, 2013 1:31 pm
Posts: 133
I'm going to start a FAQ and maybe the moderators can sticky this post. I will keep adding to this post every time I answer a question on another forum. First one was today on rpg.net

There is a video up that can clarify some stuff: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zrudUmrLXXk

Core Rulebook errata found here: http://www.fateofthenorns.com/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=46

Norn playmat can be found in the Fafnir's free printable materials: http://www.fateofthenorns.com/WP/portfolio/downloads-2/

Q: How many rune sets do I need to play?
A: The books recommends 1 set per player, but you can economize. You will need a minimum of 2 sets, 1 for the Norn and 1 for the players (if they are low level). At higher levels you will need more sets.

Q: When creating our first dwellers, what level should we start at?
A: The level range is 1 (1 Essence, but you draw the Void rune) to 72 (Destiny 24 & Essence 24), but I wouldn't start lower than level 8. You want to have a few heroic powers and some health, no point in playing a useless peasant.

Q: How is damage handled outside of combat?
A: Same as it is in combat! You assign damage and bring runes down the play mat. However, remember that powers can be used at will outside of combat, so damage (unless in Drain) will heal quickly.

Q: Can I loot corpses and mess with the dead?
A: Yes, but you will suffer penalties when you die. Your chances to get into the heavens will be penalized by the level of desecration you performed (page 151).

Q: For the bonus, who leaves the most valued item at a burial?
A: The living party members

Q: What weapon attributes get Amplified?
A: DF, Parry and Evade

Q: When do I draw my Void rune?
A: Anytime you are asked to Wyrd (unless it is already part of a maintained rune chain)

Q: Do I need to draw runes when using powers outside of combat
A: No, it's assumed you have the necessary concentration to cast anything (without meta tags)

Q: How often does Aura trigger in a combat round?
A: Aura can trigger only once per source during a round. If a Passive Power caused it to go from 0 to 1 intensity it will immediately trigger hitting everyone in the area of effect. If it's still the same Upkeep phase, that Passive power will not trigger again. If someone walks into an Aura area of effect when it's not actively firing off, they will be fine. They will just need to clear out before the next Upkeep when it will most likely fire again. If you have more than 1 instance of an Aura power (like Keen Aptitude) then the Aura condition will be increased/decreased more than once.

Q: How long do Alkas last?
A: An Alka token will last until end of combat or until a token is consumed. A space where a token was consumed will remain empty unless a Maintain or Open was played.

Q: Can you place an Alka on a space occupied by a combatant?
A: Yes and the effect will trigger immediately.

_________________
---------------
Disir = 6


Last edited by theRajjj on Fri Dec 27, 2013 6:46 am, edited 8 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RGS FAQ
PostPosted: Thu May 02, 2013 6:05 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2013 10:39 am
Posts: 1143
Heya,

I thought I'd pop in and see how things are going. Therajjj, very nice initiative, we'll try and sticky it (haha we're new to being forum admins). If there are any questions that stay unanswered I'll pop in and drop some replies. So far so good! :)

_________________
Image
https://twitter.com/avalkauskas
https://www.patreon.com/fateofthenorns


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RGS FAQ
PostPosted: Wed May 08, 2013 5:28 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 02, 2013 1:31 pm
Posts: 133
Awesome I will gladly keep this up. :)

I got your PM Andrew, added the question you saw on the blog. Hope my answer is the way you'd answer it.

_________________
---------------
Disir = 6


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RGS FAQ
PostPosted: Fri May 10, 2013 7:06 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri May 10, 2013 7:02 pm
Posts: 1
I have a question that might have been covered in the rules, but I didn't see it. The outermost row of powers on the power/skill sheets is grey, is there a special reason for that? The section on Runebinding seems to imply that you can't take them.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RGS FAQ
PostPosted: Fri May 10, 2013 8:18 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri May 10, 2013 11:36 am
Posts: 9
The grayed powers/skills in the outer ring are only available if you have a Fylgia (guardian spirit). To have a Fylgia you have to spend a dweller level and have a Disir level of at least 1. This is described on page 135.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RGS FAQ
PostPosted: Tue Jun 25, 2013 1:57 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jun 12, 2013 8:27 pm
Posts: 97
A situation came up last night that we weren't sure on how it should be resolved. If a dweller has a large weapon that requires a physical rune for attacks, and uses an active power, does he need the active power to be bound to a physical rune? Or would he just ignore the requirement? We ignored the requirement, but weren't sure. What the official rule for this?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RGS FAQ
PostPosted: Thu Jun 27, 2013 10:32 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 02, 2013 1:31 pm
Posts: 133
mamama wrote:
A situation came up last night that we weren't sure on how it should be resolved. If a dweller has a large weapon that requires a physical rune for attacks, and uses an active power, does he need the active power to be bound to a physical rune? Or would he just ignore the requirement? We ignored the requirement, but weren't sure. What the official rule for this?


Bro, it's in the rulebook somewhere... the traits don't matter when you use Active powers with larger weapons. I like it, it makes the "warrior" types that have a lot more combat active powers feel a more "warriory" LOL

_________________
---------------
Disir = 6


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RGS FAQ
PostPosted: Fri Aug 09, 2013 11:30 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 2:47 am
Posts: 8
I think the clarification you are looking for is at the bottom of page 100 in the new rulebook.
"Some Active and Passive powers include generic actions in their effect. In those cases, any specific rune traits requirements are disregarded".

mamama wrote:
A situation came up last night that we weren't sure on how it should be resolved. If a dweller has a large weapon that requires a physical rune for attacks, and uses an active power, does he need the active power to be bound to a physical rune? Or would he just ignore the requirement? We ignored the requirement, but weren't sure. What the official rule for this?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RGS FAQ
PostPosted: Sat Aug 10, 2013 12:09 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 2:47 am
Posts: 8
I'm looking for Clarification for a couple of rules in the new rulebook.
1) Conditions.
At the bottom of page 122 it says any unused marker (such as an unused rune) is taken and placed upright on the respective condition on the play mat.
The examples at the bottom of page 123 seem to contradict this and refer to player's runes.
Beneficial example : Seith Shroud. Take the root of the active rune chain that applied the condition and place it on the Shroud condition zone.
Detrimental example: Degeneration condition for 1 round. Effect becomes active and Sigfried must take a rune from Essence and put it on the degeneration zone.

2) Rune Chains.
On page 103 the first example of rune chains seems unclear whether it is physical or spiritual damage. (I'm also unsure which active power this example is using).
"If the Tiwaz (Red arrow) rune is bound to the effect deal damage factor +4 Physical, then the chains root rune represents 4 points of spiritual damage".
Why is it Spiritual damage if the rune effect deals damage factor +4 physical?
Also further in the example, it says it is double amplified for 12 points of spiritual damage but there is only 1 Amplify rune shown. Does this not mean 8 points of damage?

Also slight errata. Page 319 suggests the players use the pre generated dwellers in the book. I cant find any pre generated Dwellers in the book.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RGS FAQ
PostPosted: Sat Aug 10, 2013 7:34 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2013 10:39 am
Posts: 1143
Richard, good catch, the rules are correct, but the example is out of date. It was a change made in the last beta cycle before going to print. Using runes from Essence was too much of a penalty, so instead the rules were changed to use un-used markers instead of touching someone's Essence. I'll take note to update that example for a subsequent book print run.

As for the rune chains, where were you when we were proof reading? LOL we had a good deal of eye-balls on this and this example is pretty mangled. OK damage is 4 physical and should remain physical throughout the example. An Amplify should double it to 8, 12 is definitely incorrect.

Pre-gens were cut as we were going to print as we needed to control the page count and they ate up about 20 pages. They will be up on the official site one day as a free download as well as the maps that are used in that saga.

Thanks again, your keen eyes will help future readers.

Otherwise having a good read? :)

richard smethurst wrote:
I'm looking for Clarification for a couple of rules in the new rulebook.
1) Conditions.
At the bottom of page 122 it says any unused marker (such as an unused rune) is taken and placed upright on the respective condition on the play mat.
The examples at the bottom of page 123 seem to contradict this and refer to player's runes.
Beneficial example : Seith Shroud. Take the root of the active rune chain that applied the condition and place it on the Shroud condition zone.
Detrimental example: Degeneration condition for 1 round. Effect becomes active and Sigfried must take a rune from Essence and put it on the degeneration zone.

2) Rune Chains.
On page 103 the first example of rune chains seems unclear whether it is physical or spiritual damage. (I'm also unsure which active power this example is using).
"If the Tiwaz (Red arrow) rune is bound to the effect deal damage factor +4 Physical, then the chains root rune represents 4 points of spiritual damage".
Why is it Spiritual damage if the rune effect deals damage factor +4 physical?
Also further in the example, it says it is double amplified for 12 points of spiritual damage but there is only 1 Amplify rune shown. Does this not mean 8 points of damage?

Also slight errata. Page 319 suggests the players use the pre generated dwellers in the book. I cant find any pre generated Dwellers in the book.

_________________
Image
https://twitter.com/avalkauskas
https://www.patreon.com/fateofthenorns


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 57 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group