Fate of the Norns

The Complete Viking Experience!
It is currently Fri Mar 22, 2019 12:22 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Forum rules


No cyber-bullying, no racism, no spam! Keep discussions civil and respectful or you will be banned!



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Jul 01, 2018 9:59 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2018 6:48 pm
Posts: 99
So I'm making a Seith Abberation that's focused on melee combat. It says that they don't start with any equipment and their Power Boards support both Unarmed (Essence of the Ghost) and Armed (Nether Touch) methods of converting melee damage to Spiritual. I'm building it with Essence of the Ghost as a starting point. This would make Nether Touch superfluous unless I wanted to do armed combat damage. However, it appears twice on the Active Power Board, in 2 out of the 4 possible starting blocks.

Is this intentional?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jul 01, 2018 12:18 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 20, 2013 11:53 pm
Posts: 967
Can’t speak for Andrew, but likely yes. Nether touch on two locations would allow you to have two runes in that, thus get it available more often.

Essence of the ghost does negate it in some sense, though maybe you just pick other options, and ultimately, nether touch can do weapon attacks, which in turn might allow you access to other powers.

Pick which one matches the creature more. Are they a ghost, or are they a creature that does spiritual?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jul 01, 2018 12:19 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2018 6:48 pm
Posts: 99
Aren't Seith Abberations by definition ghosts?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jul 01, 2018 12:28 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 20, 2013 11:53 pm
Posts: 967
Actually, they are, reading closer. And yes, something is superfluous, but not for the reasons you state. They have essence of the ghost as a Base Power, which would make it superfluous on the passive board, because they all already have it, and there is no stacking effect for it that I can think.

Nether touch still allows weaponed spiritual damage, and still allows it on multiple runes, but it’s odd to have that for a base power and in the passive board. If you want to change it, I would replace it with angered spirit. That one does stack, and makes them fearsome does


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jul 01, 2018 12:33 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2018 6:48 pm
Posts: 99
They get Conjure Weapon (topright most square) as an Active Power but besides that, would they be able to actually wield weapons, being ghosts?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jul 01, 2018 12:51 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 20, 2013 11:53 pm
Posts: 967
Up to you really. Unarmored - may never wear armor implies no, but honestly, your table.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jul 01, 2018 4:42 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2018 6:48 pm
Posts: 99
Thanks for the input! :)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jul 20, 2018 12:17 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2013 10:39 am
Posts: 1074
This question had me search the ancient recesses of my 2013 memories...

OK so yes it's a ghost, but nothing in the rules stop the ghost from picking up and using physical weapons- after all they can be damaged by physical weaponry. Unarmoured means that they cannot wear armour (but they can wield weapons). Conjure weapon also has a default state of Physical damage, so there's the combo.

Essence of the Ghost is simply for unarmed attacks (no need for Conjure Weapon or having the aberration pick up some weapon).

_________________
Image
https://twitter.com/avalkauskas


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jul 24, 2018 1:02 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2018 6:48 pm
Posts: 99
Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group