Fate of the Norns

The Complete Viking Experience!
It is currently Fri Aug 23, 2019 6:29 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Forum rules


No cyber-bullying, no racism, no spam! Keep discussions civil and respectful or you will be banned!



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 57 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: RGS FAQ
PostPosted: Mon Nov 04, 2013 8:23 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jul 25, 2013 10:44 pm
Posts: 34
I've got a quick question about some ambiguous language on the modifiers for how many runes the Norn draws to see if a player makes it to Valhalla. The +1 for if players place the most valuable equipment with the dead player before he's entombed/burned: is that the dead player's most valuable piece of equipment, or is everyone else in the party supposed to gift him their most valuable pieces of equipment?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RGS FAQ
PostPosted: Mon Nov 04, 2013 8:38 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri May 10, 2013 1:53 pm
Posts: 26
Hi! ^^

That's a bonus if the living leave their most prized lootz!

You don't want to take your fallen pal's goodies before you burn em up


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RGS FAQ
PostPosted: Mon Nov 18, 2013 6:20 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 02, 2013 1:31 pm
Posts: 133
updated!

_________________
---------------
Disir = 6


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RGS FAQ
PostPosted: Sun Dec 01, 2013 5:29 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 25, 2013 11:59 am
Posts: 44
Another one:

Q: Can you trigger a passive power more than once per Upkeep

A: The global rule is that a Passive may be triggered once per combat round (think Tactician). If you have Keen Aptitude, then you can multi-trigger a passive by the number of copies you have.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RGS FAQ
PostPosted: Mon Dec 09, 2013 8:45 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2013 10:39 am
Posts: 1131
Another one from a game today:

Page 124: If a player only has one instance of an ability that increases Aura during Upkeep, it will only trigger once. The wording may lead someome to believe it triggers twice: once as it goes from 0 to 1, and other since it's still Upkeep. This is not the intent and most players do not read it in this way, but we did have someone yesterday with this understanding. The general rule is that the power that bestowed aura is the source, and once it has triggered then it won't re-trigger in that same round. However you can have a build with 3 "Tap the Source" Passive powers (using Keen Aptitude). You can trigger the aura TWICE during Upkeep. First Tap the Source turns on the Aura (0 to 1 triggering the damage), then the second instance is used to turn it off, then the third instance is used to turn it back on (0 to 1 triggering the damage). An Aura master that works to get many Aura on/off powers is a very interesting build! ;)

_________________
Image
https://twitter.com/avalkauskas


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RGS FAQ
PostPosted: Mon Dec 23, 2013 10:44 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jul 25, 2013 10:44 pm
Posts: 34
I'm having an issue with alkas. When a player uses a rune that lets him set up alkas, can he place them in an occupied hex (and thus get an automatic "hit" of the alka's effect on whatever baddie is standing there) or is it strictly for creating barriers that they would have to cross through to be effected by them? Do the alka markers stay until someone runs into them, or are they cleaned up with the rune tied to the active power that opened them?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RGS FAQ
PostPosted: Tue Dec 24, 2013 12:40 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 20, 2013 11:53 pm
Posts: 967
I believe he can create them in occupied hexes, because the alka spell Imposing Barrier specifically mentions what happens if someone gets caught in the wall erupting.

As for the markers, I would think they would go away with clean up without a Maintain or an Open. Page 103 specifies this, I believe. The passive power Alka Mastery implies this as well, as you can use it to maintain past the cleanup, thereby keeping them out there until the next cleanup.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RGS FAQ
PostPosted: Tue Dec 24, 2013 10:59 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 25, 2013 11:59 am
Posts: 44
Actually you're almost there! Alkas do last past end of turn, they last until end of combat (or until consumed). Anything consumed gets refreshed if the Alka active is Maintained (or Open). They can be spawned on a hex occupied by a combatant, but not another Alka. They can be spawned on a consumed spaced making a maintain fizzle until those Alka tokens are consumed. :D I had a long chit-chat with Andrew during Alpha testing for Alka timing, etc

Andrew should consider some more difinitive language for the Alka paragraph in the next errata, just to make it crystal clear.

Seasons Greetings!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RGS FAQ
PostPosted: Tue Dec 24, 2013 10:50 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 20, 2013 11:53 pm
Posts: 967
yes, because this notion of consuming is barely mentioned in the book at all. Indeed, the only mention I can find of it is in Alka Mastery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RGS FAQ
PostPosted: Fri Dec 27, 2013 6:46 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 02, 2013 1:31 pm
Posts: 133
updated!

edit: Happy Holidays everyone!

_________________
---------------
Disir = 6


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 57 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group