Fate of the Norns

The Complete Viking Experience!
It is currently Tue Sep 24, 2019 4:42 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Forum rules

No cyber-bullying, no racism, no spam! Keep discussions civil and respectful or you will be banned!

Post subject: Spear + Shield
PostPosted: Thu Sep 27, 2018 6:10 am 

I'm new to this game and in the process of learning it, so maybe I'm asking things which are obvious...

By the way, how can you do the most basic combination of all times Spear + Shield?
The smallest spear on page 301 is the "long Spear" which is Size 5 = two-handed for Size 4 humans, according to page 130....so all spears in this game are two-handed weapons!
What about Javelins/throwing spears?

Furthermore, how can it be that in this game a "spiked metal shield " (Size 5) or a "Tower Shield" (Size 6) are also two-handed for normal human-sized warriors (Size 4)?
What's the point is using them without attacking?

Maybe I'm missing something since it looks to me that these rule cannot replicate the most basic weapon combination in human history....please, tell me where I'm wrong!

Post subject: Re: Spear + Shield
PostPosted: Thu Sep 27, 2018 6:40 am 

Last question first - you can certainly defend with them without attacking. But more to the point, you can have characters larger than size 4 ;)

If you want to make a spear and shield (and, frankly, probably is an oversight), go with a warhammer and take one off of damage and add 2 to pierce for the spear. That’ll be balanced with the rest of them. Javelin I would use the same thing, as weapons can all be thrown 5 by default. Just make a small one if you want a smaller javelin (using the size 3, so maybe 1 damages, 2 Pierce, 1 reach).

Essentially, 1 damage = 1 parry = 2 Pierce = 1 reach/10 range (missiles like bow and sling, not thrown) = 1/3 focus. Remember that to make a weapon to attack with you must have reach of at least 1.