Fate of the Norns

The Complete Viking Experience!
It is currently Tue Dec 10, 2019 5:43 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Forum rules

No cyber-bullying, no racism, no spam! Keep discussions civil and respectful or you will be banned!

Post subject: Mount: Dire Wolf
PostPosted: Tue Oct 18, 2016 8:04 pm 

I'm starting a Saga next Friday and one of my players wants to play a Fardrengir Beast Master. He likes the idea of riding a celestial mount, but was not appealed by either the Golden Boar or the Silver Stag. He asked me if he could ride a Dire Wolf. So I looked at the grids for the wolf and the two mounts and came up with something. It's my first time creating a denzien with the grids and all and I hoped tou could give me some advice.

I added some active and passive that I thought were necessary for a mount and, since I had the idea that the dire wolves originated from Jotunheim, I added Frost Breath in the lower left corner of the Active powers.

Mount: Dire Wolf https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B_mLAi ... sp=sharing

So what do you guys think, should I just keep the wolf grid as it is or is what I created not too OP for a mount?

P.S. English is not my primary language so sorry for any mistakes I could have made.

Post subject: Re: Mount: Dire Wolf
PostPosted: Thu Oct 20, 2016 5:58 pm 

I took a look and you did a really good job at evoking the wolf-like qualities with your selection. And kudos for taking the DotN mount powers as well.

My only comments would be:
- Death Charge requires a weapon, unless you house rule that it doesn't. Frenetic Charge may be a better option, but you need to add a Rage inducing power.
- You loaded the best of everything for an unarmed mobile combatant on one board, so be prepared for something terrifying. Part of the art of board design is keeping ultra-builds in check by placing combos further apart. This way they don't feel front loaded, and it leads to interesting levelling decisions as you try to pick optimal paths.