Fate of the Norns

The Complete Viking Experience!
It is currently Mon Dec 16, 2019 6:31 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Forum rules


No cyber-bullying, no racism, no spam! Keep discussions civil and respectful or you will be banned!



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Sep 18, 2016 5:39 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2014 12:46 am
Posts: 13
Question One: Someone uses the active power Possess Opponent, and Amplifies it three times. It now does +8 Spiritual damage and inflicts the Possessed condition with a +4 Intensity. Correct?

Question Two: Someone has the Possessed Condition at Intensity 3. Their Runes are controlled by the possessing Spirit, which can use them during the Dweller's Action phase (with some exceptions for the Puppet Master passive). Does this mean the Possessed being cannot use their runes for any purpose during the Upkeep phase? I'm specifically thinking of using them to reduce the Possessed Intensity. (Hmmm, just found some advice from Andrew, pointing out that only runes In Hand are controlled, and placing them in Contingency during Upkeep is a valid strategy. This seems to be a similar situation; handling runes during Upkeep.)

Question Three: (Not Possessed related, more general Condition related) The Norn Screen specifies the order in which detrimental conditions are dealt with. 1) Play a rune to reduce Intensity by 1. 2) Conditions with Intensity greater than 0 are triggered. 3) Perform a Minor Sacrifice +1 to reduce Intensity by 1. An individual can only do #1 or #3 once per Upkeep per Condition. Can an individual both Play a rune and perform a Minor Sacrifice +1 during a single Upkeep to reduce a detrimental Condition Intensity by a total of 2?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Sep 18, 2016 11:00 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2013 10:39 am
Posts: 1147
Dumnbunny wrote:
Question One: Someone uses the active power Possess Opponent, and Amplifies it three times. It now does +8 Spiritual damage and inflicts the Possessed condition with a +4 Intensity. Correct?


Yep the 3x Amplify means a 4x multiplier to both sources. Your numbers are correct.

Dumnbunny wrote:
Question Two: Someone has the Possessed Condition at Intensity 3. Their Runes are controlled by the possessing Spirit, which can use them during the Dweller's Action phase (with some exceptions for the Puppet Master passive). Does this mean the Possessed being cannot use their runes for any purpose during the Upkeep phase? I'm specifically thinking of using them to reduce the Possessed Intensity. (Hmmm, just found some advice from Andrew, pointing out that only runes In Hand are controlled, and placing them in Contingency during Upkeep is a valid strategy. This seems to be a similar situation; handling runes during Upkeep.)


That's right, runes lost due to Possession are used during the Action Phase. This means that you have access to them during Upkeep, so you can use those runes for condition reduction, contingencies, etc. Possession is powerful, but you can play around it.

Dumnbunny wrote:
Question Three: (Not Possessed related, more general Condition related) The Norn Screen specifies the order in which detrimental conditions are dealt with. 1) Play a rune to reduce Intensity by 1. 2) Conditions with Intensity greater than 0 are triggered. 3) Perform a Minor Sacrifice +1 to reduce Intensity by 1. An individual can only do #1 or #3 once per Upkeep per Condition. Can an individual both Play a rune and perform a Minor Sacrifice +1 during a single Upkeep to reduce a detrimental Condition Intensity by a total of 2?


Yes :)

_________________
Image
https://twitter.com/avalkauskas
https://www.patreon.com/fateofthenorns


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Sep 18, 2016 11:28 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2014 12:46 am
Posts: 13
Groovy. Thanks, Andrew.

That bit I linked to (here), about Seithkonas putting runes in Contingency while Possessed and manipulating Possess Intensity, has me seeing Seithkonas in a whole new light. Very interesting!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Nov 09, 2016 7:58 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2016 4:44 pm
Posts: 2
I have a question about amplify and weapon attacks. The Core Rulebook says that if an active power that includes a weapon attack is amplified, the weapon DF is doubled. Does this include conditions and passives like Rage or Might? And if you are duel/triple wielding, does the weapon attack include more than one weapon and do passives stack per weapon that attacks? eg, a skald with martial prowess and hand of tyr makes a power attack and amplifies it, is that 6*weapon damage+6 (2*3) from martial prowess+12 (2*3*2) from power attack? This may have been answered somewhere else but I haven't been able to find it.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Nov 09, 2016 9:34 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2013 10:39 am
Posts: 1147
The RGS FAQ and several other threads have this covered

viewtopic.php?f=5&t=5&p=167&hilit=amplify+meta+stack+df+pierce+passive+active+weapon#p167

Amp doubles your final effect (minus focus, minus items stats not related to damage, and minus other meta effects).

Passives add to your attack, not to your weapons, so when you attack, you will attack with all equipped DF at the same time.

_________________
Image
https://twitter.com/avalkauskas
https://www.patreon.com/fateofthenorns


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group