Fate of the Norns
http://www.fateofthenorns.com/phpBB3/

Aqua Armor, Aqua Axe
http://www.fateofthenorns.com/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=16&t=783
Page 1 of 1

Author:  Balasar [ Tue Sep 10, 2019 9:51 am ]
Post subject:  Aqua Armor, Aqua Axe

Aqua Armor and Aqua Axe improve their stats based on the number of water hexes surrounding you.

1. Is that like the focus boost to Versabdlung Spells where it’s capped at the effects of 6 hexes (+1 focus per 2 adjacent hexes to a max of +3 is 6 hexes, or a character fully surrounded on a 2D plane), or is it based on a 3D scale, with larger creatures having a larger number of adjacent hexes, and therefore better Aqua Armor/Axe? For instance, a size 6 creature occupies 2 hexes, and will have more adjacent water hexes than a size 4 human. Does that size 6 creature benefit from a higher PF boost?

2. The Range/Reach of Aqua Axe is vague. “Your range and reach are defined by the body of water’s boundaries, and you may only strike opponents who are within the same body of water as you.” Is the Reach/range of the weapon anywhere within the body of water? What if you’re in an ocean or a sea? Or in Jotunheim, trying to get across the Ifing River? That’s a little excessive, no?

Author:  andrew [ Sun Sep 15, 2019 9:47 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Aqua Armor, Aqua Axe

Balasar wrote:
Aqua Armor and Aqua Axe improve their stats based on the number of water hexes surrounding you.

1. Is that like the focus boost to Versabdlung Spells where it’s capped at the effects of 6 hexes (+1 focus per 2 adjacent hexes to a max of +3 is 6 hexes, or a character fully surrounded on a 2D plane), or is it based on a 3D scale, with larger creatures having a larger number of adjacent hexes, and therefore better Aqua Armor/Axe? For instance, a size 6 creature occupies 2 hexes, and will have more adjacent water hexes than a size 4 human. Does that size 6 creature benefit from a higher PF boost?

2. The Range/Reach of Aqua Axe is vague. “Your range and reach are defined by the body of water’s boundaries, and you may only strike opponents who are within the same body of water as you.” Is the Reach/range of the weapon anywhere within the body of water? What if you’re in an ocean or a sea? Or in Jotunheim, trying to get across the Ifing River? That’s a little excessive, no?


1. Yeah they should be capped at 6, but if hard pressed you can allow 1 above and below for a total of 8 adjacent hexes (if they dive into deep water).

2. Magic is mysterious and I would leave this to the Norn's discretion. Some magical things shouldn't be defined and explained to players (Lore Arcana DR 6+). Nature's weird ;)

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC - 5 hours
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/