Fate of the Norns

The Complete Viking Experience!
It is currently Mon Oct 14, 2019 1:20 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Forum rules


No cyber-bullying, no racism, no spam! Keep discussions civil and respectful or you will be banned!



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Sep 04, 2019 8:20 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jul 20, 2019 12:56 pm
Posts: 61
So I’m building out some Angungri for my players to fight. It’s a small encounter, 3 up close and personal warriors with 1 or 2 mages in the back with Alkas and support spells. My questions can theoretically apply to lots of different creatures, and even to players, if they work together.

Question 1: Stitch Kindred + any area of effect Heal. For this example, Angungri get Stitch Kindred and a spell song version of catharsis. So if stitch kindred heals all members for the amount 1 member heals, then would a healing spell song that hits the caster and 1 other member of the bond heal all members twice? Or does it become one “source” and everyone is healed once?

Question 2: if you combine turn the blade and untouchable, but don’t tell the players about the Reach penalty, and they attack from a little way back, causing them to miss entirely, does that count as reducing damage to 0 so as to reflect it back? For instance, a Reach 3 transformed berserker takes a swipe from 3 spaces out, untouchable makes them whiff. Can I then send their crazy high damage back at them?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Sep 04, 2019 12:12 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2013 10:39 am
Posts: 1142
The game rewards good team work, so if your denizens work together (combo off each other), they will be more lethal than their stated level.

1) Stitch Kindred is a jaw dropper for players the first time they have to face it. They may have to retreat and rethink their strategy if they don't have have a strategy already (ie. spiritual damage). The active power has a source and every member can benefit from a source only once per trigger/casting. However when the Stitch triggers it is a new source. So yes some stitch members (those in the heal's area of effect) would get healed twice- once from the heal spell, and another time from the stitch.

2) Turn the Blade is adjacent only

_________________
Image
https://twitter.com/avalkauskas
https://www.patreon.com/fateofthenorns


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Sep 04, 2019 5:37 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jul 20, 2019 12:56 pm
Posts: 61
1. So if a spellcaster uses stitch kindred on, say 3 other people, then all members take 1/4 damage. The caster then fires off an area of effect heal (let’s say spell song catharsis in keeping with the Angungri and assume no amplifies for simplicity) getting themselves and two other people in the area. All 4 members of the bond then heal 12?

2. I apparently missed that when reading turn the blade haha thanks. What about someone like a maiden of ratatosk who can get Untouchable, Aura of Influence, and Turn the Blade with just 5 essence? Then someone 2 spaces away has the Reach penalty while still being considered adjacent.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Sep 05, 2019 12:28 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2013 10:39 am
Posts: 1142
Balasar wrote:
1. So if a spellcaster uses stitch kindred on, say 3 other people, then all members take 1/4 damage. The caster then fires off an area of effect heal (let’s say spell song catharsis in keeping with the Angungri and assume no amplifies for simplicity) getting themselves and two other people in the area. All 4 members of the bond then heal 12?


Yes, 1/4 damage round up.So the heal hits 3 of the 4 people in your example, so 3 would get a double heal while 1 would only get the heal from the stitch.
Angungri 1: in stitch and in area of effect -> heal once from the spell and another time from the stitch triggering
Angungri 2: in stitch and in area of effect -> heal once from the spell and another time from the stitch triggering
Angungri 3: in stitch and in area of effect -> heal once from the spell and another time from the stitch triggering
Angungri 4: in stitch and in area of effect -> heal once from the stitch triggering

Balasar wrote:
2. I apparently missed that when reading turn the blade haha thanks. What about someone like a maiden of ratatosk who can get Untouchable, Aura of Influence, and Turn the Blade with just 5 essence? Then someone 2 spaces away has the Reach penalty while still being considered adjacent.


Yes, quite the nice combo build! :twisted:

_________________
Image
https://twitter.com/avalkauskas
https://www.patreon.com/fateofthenorns


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group