Fate of the Norns

The Complete Viking Experience!
It is currently Mon Jan 21, 2019 5:45 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Forum rules


No cyber-bullying, no racism, no spam! Keep discussions civil and respectful or you will be banned!



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Jul 19, 2018 5:52 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2018 6:48 pm
Posts: 83
I am making my first attempt at running a Swarm. The set up is that the Dwellers will be on a boat traveling down a narrow but very tempestuous river surrounded by icy plains when an Ice Skwee Swarm will rise up out of the waters and attack. My base stats for the Swarm is as follows:

Quote:
Number of Ice Skwee: 10
Health of Each: 3 Runes
Essence Rune Bag: 30
Destiny: 5

ACTIVE POWERS (3)

PASSIVE POWERS (3)
Unencumbered Dodge: PF +1 vs. Physical
Keen Aptitude (Unencumbered Dodge)
Fae-Kin: If you have no armor or weapons you gain a +1 Focus

BONUS PASSIVE POWERS
Resistance to Impeded x 5
Resistance to Blindness x 5
Resistance to Degeneration x 5
Resistance to Possession x 5
Resistance to Vulnerable x 5

ESSENCE
9 Physical
12 Mental
9 Spiritual




Now, some questions.

First, I am counting the whole Swarm as a level 3 creature in terms of choosing Powers on the Power Boards, based off of the fact that each Skwee has 3 Health. Correct?

For Initiative, does the Swarm count as one combatant? So, it would go: Swarm, Dweller 1, Dweller 2, etc.., then Swarm again at the top of the new round?

Since the Skwee have a Size of 2 and a Move of 4, I was more or less going to separate them into five pairs. This would make things much easier on Roll20 since I could then have five tokens that fit perfectly into the hexes. That's how it would look, mechanically, on Roll20. It would be somewhat of an abstraction, however, since in the actual game, the whole Swarm would be zipping around constantly within the confines of their occupied Hexes. Thus, a single particular Skwee couldn't be targeted and I wouldn't have to worry about keeping track of which Skwee was specifically hit for damage, etc. Is this plausible?

Now, assuming the above is true, with a since Move Action (1 Rune) I'd be actually moving one of the pair tokens to the desired location. This would represent actually ONE of the Skwee moving there. It doesn't actually matter which, since I will keep them ALL adjacent. Does this make sense?

Sorry for the vagueness.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jul 20, 2018 12:02 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2013 10:39 am
Posts: 1053
dafelsheim wrote:
I am making my first attempt at running a Swarm. The set up is that the Dwellers will be on a boat traveling down a narrow but very tempestuous river surrounded by icy plains when an Ice Skwee Swarm will rise up out of the waters and attack. My base stats for the Swarm is as follows:

Quote:
Number of Ice Skwee: 10
Health of Each: 3 Runes
Essence Rune Bag: 30
Destiny: 5

ACTIVE POWERS (3)

PASSIVE POWERS (3)
Unencumbered Dodge: PF +1 vs. Physical
Keen Aptitude (Unencumbered Dodge)
Fae-Kin: If you have no armor or weapons you gain a +1 Focus

BONUS PASSIVE POWERS
Resistance to Impeded x 5
Resistance to Blindness x 5
Resistance to Degeneration x 5
Resistance to Possession x 5
Resistance to Vulnerable x 5

ESSENCE
9 Physical
12 Mental
9 Spiritual




Now, some questions.

First, I am counting the whole Swarm as a level 3 creature in terms of choosing Powers on the Power Boards, based off of the fact that each Skwee has 3 Health. Correct?


Nope the swarm should be considered as an approximate level 40 (30 essence = 30 levels, 5 Destiny = 10 Destiny). It is a weak level 40 since it doesn't have as many actives and passives.

dafelsheim wrote:
For Initiative, does the Swarm count as one combatant? So, it would go: Swarm, Dweller 1, Dweller 2, etc.., then Swarm again at the top of the new round?


This is entirely up to you. I would suggest giving the swarm more than 1 initiative tile. Try it out, if you don't like it, try 1 initiative tile.

dafelsheim wrote:
Since the Skwee have a Size of 2 and a Move of 4, I was more or less going to separate them into five pairs. This would make things much easier on Roll20 since I could then have five tokens that fit perfectly into the hexes. That's how it would look, mechanically, on Roll20. It would be somewhat of an abstraction, however, since in the actual game, the whole Swarm would be zipping around constantly within the confines of their occupied Hexes. Thus, a single particular Skwee couldn't be targeted and I wouldn't have to worry about keeping track of which Skwee was specifically hit for damage, etc. Is this plausible?


Think of it as an abstraction: as many tentacles of a much larger beast. Once all tentacles are killed, the beast dies. It's natural to try and think of them as separate entities, but that defeats the purpose of a swarm. Or think of them as a cloud of hundreds of locusts. Each hit would kill dozens. You can try to even evade the player's question as to how many there are. If the chaos of combat they count "about a dozen".

The point of a swarm is to have them indivisible, one big cloud that can take any shape. But if roll20 plays better with smaller groups, you can go ahead and do that. The moment you break up the swarm some logical questions may arise:
- How do you move them? (see below)
- If you use too many of the runes from Destiny on 1 subgroup, how do you rationalize that this small subgroup can do so much while the others stand around far away doing nothing this turn?

dafelsheim wrote:
Now, assuming the above is true, with a since Move Action (1 Rune) I'd be actually moving one of the pair tokens to the desired location. This would represent actually ONE of the Skwee moving there. It doesn't actually matter which, since I will keep them ALL adjacent. Does this make sense?

Sorry for the vagueness.


Again think one creature with many tentacles. When you move, you should probably move all of them. But I know you were thinking of making some mini-swarms from the bigger swarm. If you want to keep the logic similar to combat (1 attack originates from 1 swarm member somewhere) then you could say 1 move = 1 swarm group.

These are great questions and I think I will add them to the errata! :)

_________________
Image
https://twitter.com/avalkauskas


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jul 24, 2018 1:25 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2018 6:48 pm
Posts: 83
Hm. This does leave me pondering about a few things still.

When it comes to the Swarm members using Powers or being affected by others' Powers, would I more or less just choose ANY of the Hexes occupied by the Swarm as the origination point (if using a Power) or the point being targeted (if being affected by a Power?)

What if a Dweller was using an Active Power that would normally single out a specific target without the Power doing damage or inflicting Conditions? For example, Knockback, penalties to Wyrds, reductions in PF/DF, etc.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group